Playing in the rain

The other day, I had to go outside during a torrential downpour to check on our gutters (all is fine). By the time I got back to the door that goes into the kitchen, I decided that it was pouring so bad that I couldn’t just enter back where I came from. So I went around my garage. When I entered the garage, my son Clay was waiting for me. He and the Queen came out to watch the rain for a little bit. By the time the Queen went inside, I still wanted to watch. It’s one of the things that I like to do.

I started to notice that Clay would put his foot in the water and test to see if I would say anything. On a normal day I probably would have, but we did not have anything in particular to do. Instead, I ran to a line in the driveway and ran back. Clay noticed what I did and immediately did the same. Before I knew it, we were outside enjoying the rainfall. We would dance, splash, and waive at passing cars who undoubtably thought we were crazy or awesome for being our in the weather.

I truly enjoyed myself. I really think that to better enjoy our lives we should take the opportunity to play even when the timing is not perfect. We should love when we don’t feel like it, and we should obey God’s word even when it doesn’t seem profitable.

In each of those scenarios, it doesn’t seem like it will be fun until you get involved in it. So go out and play in the rain sometime. Do something that at first seems unenjoyable. Do something that you used to do as a kid, and find yourself in the middle of loving that experience. Take time with your kids in this way, and show them your love.

Leave a comment